//
you're reading...
Poems

Grilled Cheese on Cuban Bread

I miss him so,
My honorable predecessor whom I should’ve known
The round green lagoons that often stared at me with pride.
With yellow, and red specks and a little bit of complexity hidden inside.

I’d never know what he’s thinking
We wouldn’t offer a piece of each other’s mind
But now I sit here blinking
Wishing we were again by each others side.

His disappearance seems unreal.
Does he know how I feel?
Just one more Sunday to help the psyche.
I beg, plead and bargain.
I know it’s unlikely.

It’d be worth it for some embraces and goodbyes.

I can almost smell the weekly grilled cheese
With Swiss on warm Cuban bread, made especially for me.
Knowing better than to disturb each other’s thoughts,
together we’d eat silently or exchange unintimate talks.

During youth, one won’t realize how opportunity flies.
My chance to show him the view through all the windows in my mind
Is now long gone and there is no more time.

I wonder what gifts corporeal transcendence brings.
But I hope it is many wondrous things
Like, joy, peace, reverent tolerance and understanding of all that’s around.
Including those loved ones who seemed just a bit too sound.

But that’s just like he and I.
Face to face, there’s no need to cry.
Worry is what we tend to refuse to invoke
Even if it’s from the people we should confide in the most

But take my warnings and don’t be regretful.
Tell them your troubles.
Share these universal griefs and don’t fear being fretful.
Share your struggles.

Let them know you need them and don’t hide your dread.
Make your mothers, fathers and friends glad to have a hand to lend.
Let them have a heart to mend.

Don’t play this game called life on your own.
Because it could be distressingly over before you know.

You won’t find answers from above
so discipline yourself while you can
during this limited life span,
to please, just love and let love.

About analizjee

Analiz Jee, conscientious humanist and avid lover of words. I am a reader, writer, and educator (among other things) with a passion for creativity, progression and innovation. I adore compelling stories, worthy causes, and believe in the significance of truth and beauty.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

a human experience documented via smart phone

Waiting for #Halloween like.... ๐Ÿ’€๐Ÿ‘ป @valfre #GPOY ๐Ÿ‡บ๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ’ฅ๐ŸŽ†๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿ”๐ŸŒญ๐Ÿป๐ŸพWish you all a safe and stellar #4thOfJuly. Remember ๐Ÿ’ก what goes up, must come down. ๐Ÿ”ซ๐Ÿ’€ #gunsafety#dontshootup#NotTalkingAboutHeroine ๐Ÿ’‰ Why follow a doctrine that deteriorates your own #humanity into a #reflection of a #lustful and unclean animal? Would you choose a life of #freedom or would you rather live with a constant sense of #morbid #sin? #WinnieThePooh#doWhatYouWant Happy Birthday to my best bitch. ๐Ÿป๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽ€๐ŸŽˆ๐Ÿ‘‘๐Ÿ†i hope this 24th year of life brings many good things. #birthdayprincess#2bitches#survivalofthelittest#24#bday An accurate representation of an inaccurate & prosthetic #emotion. Take your pick.

#mattel#barbie#dolly ๐ŸŒThe universe is not that fucking mysterious. For the most part, we get what we ask for. Stop blaming other people for your problems. #URtheCommonDenominator ๐ŸŒ๐Ÿ”ฎ๐ŸŒŽโ˜„#badjuju #lmao #justthinkpositively #lawofattraction #SELFFULFILLINGPROPHECY #reflections St. Patty's with the #baddest - ๐Ÿ€๐Ÿ’š Happy #InternationalWomensDay! Channel your inner punk #goddess and tell the world, "fuck the #patriarchy." ๐Ÿ’‹ #IWD2016 @pollynor
